Touro Law Positioned as Leader in Aging and Longevity Law
Posted On December 1, 2016
Touro Law Center Dean Harry Ballan is pleased to announce the New York State Education Department ha... Read More
Touro Law Arbitration Team Places First in Statewide Competition
Posted On November 22, 2016
Central Islip, NY - Touro Law’s Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Society Arbitration team,... Read More
Touro Law Celebrates Retiring Associate Dean, Welcomes New Veterans’ Clinic Leadership
Posted On November 9, 2016
The Touro Law Center Alumni Veterans Council hosted a brunch on Sunday, November 6, 2016, to mark th... Read More
please click to see full form

Academic Calendar

December 12
Final examinations
December 13
Final examinations
December 14
Final examinations
December 15
Final examinations
December 16
Final examinations


Bainbridge Moot Court Competition Held at Touro Law

October 1, 2009

Central Islip, NY – The final round of the 27th Annual Bainbridge Moot Court Competition was held at the Law Center on Wednesday, September 23. Andrew Bernstein, a second year full-time student, won the competition. Mr. Bernstein prevailed in a close decision over fellow second year full-time student Ashley Hall before an audience of faculty, students, families and friends in the auditorium. At the conclusion of the finals, the Judge George C. Pratt Award for contributions to Moot Court was presented to Professor Lewis Silverman.

Canadian Supreme Court Justice Rosalie Silberman Abella served as Chief Justice of the finals bench. Joining her were the Honorable Thomas M. Hardiman, Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit and The Honorable Joseph F. Bianco, Judge of the United States District Court for the Eastern District of New York. In the competition, named for former Touro Law Center Dean John S. Bainbridge, eligible second-year students write appellate briefs and participate in oral arguments before panels of distinguished judges.

Congratulations also to semifinalists Lauren D’Antuono and William Murphy. In addition to the finalists and semifinalists, eleven other students earned membership on the Moot Court Honor Board of Advocates: Michelle Azoulay, Andrew Bernstein, Jamie-Lynn Burns, Lauren D’Antuono, Amanda DiMarco, Ashley Hall, Moshe LaBrie, William Murphy, Brook Peltz, Steven Sepluveres and Brendan Sihksnel. Jamie-Lynn Burns received the award for Best Brief.

The Moot Court Honor Board of Advocates is the Law Center’s elite interscholastic appellate advocacy team. Members participate in appellate advocacy competitions against teams from other schools throughout the academic year.


Touro College Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center has a new 185,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art law campus adjacent to and working with a state and a federal courthouse in Central Islip, New York. Touro’s new campus provides a one-of-a kind learning model for law students, combining a rigorous curriculum taught by expert faculty with a practical courtroom experience. Touro, which has a student body of approximately 750 and an alumni base of nearly 5,000, offers full- and part-time J.D. programs as well as graduate law programs.

For more info contact:
Patti Desrochers
Director of Communications
(631) 761-7062
Fax (631) 761-7069