Follow us on FB L T
Contact Us
Touro Law Center
225 Eastview Drive/Room 404
Central Islip, NY 11722
Telephone: (631) 761-7060
Fax: (631) 761-7069

Hours of Operation
Monday – Thursday, 8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Other hours by appointment
please click to see full form
down arrow

Bruce K. Gould Book Award

was presented to 
Michael Oren in 2015.

Michael Oren Gould Book Award winner 
Bruce K. Gould Book Award for best book of past year on law or law-related subject was presented to Michael B Oren, former Israeli Ambassador to the US, current Knesset member, for his bestseller Ally: My Journey Across the American-Israeli Divide, on Thursday, November 12 at Touro Law Center. There was a book signing prior to the ceremony.
About the Author:
Michael Oren served as the Israeli ambassador to the United States from 2009 to 2013. An American by birth and a historian by training, Oren arrived at his diplomatic post just as Benjamin Netanyahu, Barack Obama, and Hillary Clinton assumed office. During Oren's tenure in office, Israel and America grappled with the Palestinian peace process, the Arab Spring, and existential threats to Israel posed by international terrorism and the Iranian nuclear program. Forged in the Truman administration, America's alliance with Israel was subjected to enormous strains, and its future was questioned by commentators in both countries. On more than one occasion, the friendship's very fabric seemed close to unraveling.
About the Award:
The Bruce K. Gould Book Award is presented annually to the author of an outstanding publication related to the law, legal profession or legal system. The award is named for its benefactor Bruce K. Gould, an alumnus of Touro Law Center, class of 1984. Mr. Gould was a principal in Gould Publications, a family-owned publishing company in Florida specializing in law books and treatises for legal and law enforcement communities. The business was started in 1953 by Mr. Gould’s father and mother and over the years has grown to be one of the leading statutory law book publishers in the country until the publishing assets were acquired in December 2004. Mr. Gould is a founding member and second president of Touro Law Center’s Alumni Association, an active member of Touro Law Center’s Board of Governors, was Chairman of the Law Center’s Capital Campaign Committee and in 1994, endowed the Law Center’s First Faculty Chair.

The award has become known as one of the most prestigious awards of its kind. Since 1993, it has been presented to many notable recipients.

Previous Bruce K. Gould Book Award Recipients:

2015 Michael OrenAlly: My Journey Across the American-Israeli Divide

2013 Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor, My Beloved World

2010 Kenneth Gormley, The Death of American Virtue: Clinton Vs. Starr

2009 Bob Woodward, The War Within: A Secret White House History 2006 - 2008

2008 Christopher J. Dodd, Letters from Nuremberg: My Father’s Narrative of a Quest for Justice

2005 David Boies, Esq.Courting Justice:  From NY Yankees v. Major League Baseball to Bush v. Gore 1997-2000

2004 Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, The Majesty of the Law: Reflections of a Supreme Court Justice

2003 Stuart Eizenstat, Imperfect Justice: Looted Assets, Slave Labor and the Unfinished Business of World War II
2002 Vernon E. Jordan, Jr., Vernon Can Read! A Memoir
2001 Alan M. Dershowitz, The Genesis of Justice, Ten Stories of Biblical Injustice That Led to the Ten Commandments and Modern Law
2000 Barry Scheck, Peter Neufeld, and Jim Dwyer, Actual Innocence: Five Days to Execution and Other Dispatches from the Wrongly Convicted
1999 Kenneth Gormley, Archibald Cox: Conscience of a Nation
1998 Anita Hill, Speaking Truth to Power
1997 Robert L. Shapiro, The Search for Justice, A Defense Attorney's Brief on the O.J. Simpson Case
1996 The Honorable Marvin E. Frankel, Faith and Freedom: Religious Liberty in America
1995 Jack Greenberg, Crusaders in the Courts: How a Dedicated Band of Lawyers Fought for the Civil Rights Revolution
1994 David Margolick, Undue Influence: The Epic Battle for the Johnson & Johnson Fortune
1993 Telford Taylor, The Anatomy of the Nuremberg Trials
1992 Patricia Williams, The Alchemy of Race and Rights: Diary of a Law Professor
1991 The Honorable Daniel Patrick Moynihan, On the Law of Nations
1991 Mordecai Rosenfeld, The Lament of the Single Practitioner-Essays on the Law