• Touro Law to Commemorate Kristallnacht
    Posted On November 7, 2018
    Touro College Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center will host a commemorative program remembering Kristallna... Read More
  • Professor Richard Klein to Receive SALT Great Teacher Award
    Posted On October 15, 2018
    Touro Law Center Professor Richard D. Klein, the Bruce K. Gould Distinguished Professor of Law, will... Read More
  • Touro Names Professor Roig Director of Neighborhood Programs
    Posted On October 9, 2018
    Touro Law Center Dean Harry Ballan is delighted to announce the appointment of Associate Professor o... Read More
  • All News GO

please click to see full form
down arrow
Contact Us
Touro Law Center Campus
225 Eastview Drive/Room 302
Central Islip, NY 11722
Telephone: (631) 761-7033
Fax: (631) 761-7039

Thomas Maligno
Director of Public Interest and Executive
Director of the Public Advocacy Center

Distinguished Public Interest Lawyer in Residence Program

Through this program, Touro Law Center recognizes attorneys who have made significant contributions to society by representation of individuals or groups historically denied access to justice. Honorees visit the Law Center to meet with students, guest teach classes and deliver a public lecture. The program attracts distinguished visitors who are active in the field of public interest who inspire and teach members of the Touro Law community.
Past Public Interest Lawyer In Residence Recipients


Richard Hooks Wayman, National  Executive Director of the Children's Defense Fund


James J. Sandman, Esq., President, Legal Services Corporation


Seymour W. James, Jr., Esq., Attorney-in-Chief of The Legal Aid Society in New York City


Jonathan Rapping, Associate Professor of Law and Director of the Honors Program in Criminal Justice at Atlanta's John Marshall Law School 


James Moreno, Esq.., Federal Defenders Association of Philadelphia's Capital Habeas Unit 


Jameel Jaffer, Esq., Deputy Director - The American Civil Liberties Union 

Robin G. Steinberg, Executive Director – The Bronx Defenders
2008 Wade Henderson, President and CEO of the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights and Counselor to the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund
2004 Mark D. Cohen, Deputy Director and Chief Counsel of the New York State Office of Homeland Security
2004 Cesar Perales, President and General Counsel of the Puerto Rican Legal Defense and Education Fund (PRLDEF)
2003 Nancy Neveloff Dubler, Director of the Division of Bioethics (Montefiore Medical Center) and Professor of Epidemiology and Social Medicine (Albert Einstein College of Medicine)
2001 Gay McDougall, Executive Director, The International Human Rights Law Group
2000 Stephen B. Bright, Director, The Southern Center for Human Rights
1999 David Leven, Executive Director, Prisoners’ Legal Service of New York
1998 Daniel L. Greenberg, Director, Legal Aid Society of New York
1997 Elaine Jones, Director-Counsel, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
1996 Janet Benshoof, President, The Center for Reproductive Law & Policy
1995 Judith L. Lichtman, President, Women’s Legal Defense Fund
1994 Thomas B. Stoddard, Executive Director, Lambda Legal Defense & Education Fund
1991 Arthur Kinoy, Executive Director, Center for Constitutional Rights