• Touro Law Celebrates the Class of 2018
    Posted On June 1, 2018
    On Sunday, May 26, Touro Law Center celebrated the Class of 2018 at the 36th annual commencement cer... Read More
  • Scholarship Established in Memory of Judge Leon Lazer
    Posted On May 23, 2018
    Dean Harry Ballan is pleased to announce that the Judge Leon D. Lazer Memorial Scholarship has been... Read More
  • Liberty & Justice Dinner Honors New Builders Society Inductees, Other Honorees
    Posted On May 23, 2018
    Touro Law Center welcomed three new members of its Builders Society and honored several other indivi... Read More
please click to see full form
down arrow
Contact Us
Touro Law Center Campus
225 Eastview Drive/Room 302
Central Islip, NY 11722
Telephone: (631) 761-7033
Fax: (631) 761-7039

Thomas Maligno
Director of Public Interest and Executive
Director of the Public Advocacy Center

Distinguished Public Interest Lawyer in Residence Program

Through this program, Touro Law Center recognizes attorneys who have made significant contributions to society by representation of individuals or groups historically denied access to justice. Honorees visit the Law Center to meet with students, guest teach classes and deliver a public lecture. The program attracts distinguished visitors who are active in the field of public interest who inspire and teach members of the Touro Law community.
Past Public Interest Lawyer In Residence Recipients


Richard Hooks Wayman, National  Executive Director of the Children's Defense Fund


James J. Sandman, Esq., President, Legal Services Corporation


Seymour W. James, Jr., Esq., Attorney-in-Chief of The Legal Aid Society in New York City


Jonathan Rapping, Associate Professor of Law and Director of the Honors Program in Criminal Justice at Atlanta's John Marshall Law School 


James Moreno, Esq.., Federal Defenders Association of Philadelphia's Capital Habeas Unit 


Jameel Jaffer, Esq., Deputy Director - The American Civil Liberties Union 

Robin G. Steinberg, Executive Director – The Bronx Defenders
2008 Wade Henderson, President and CEO of the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights and Counselor to the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund
2004 Mark D. Cohen, Deputy Director and Chief Counsel of the New York State Office of Homeland Security
2004 Cesar Perales, President and General Counsel of the Puerto Rican Legal Defense and Education Fund (PRLDEF)
2003 Nancy Neveloff Dubler, Director of the Division of Bioethics (Montefiore Medical Center) and Professor of Epidemiology and Social Medicine (Albert Einstein College of Medicine)
2001 Gay McDougall, Executive Director, The International Human Rights Law Group
2000 Stephen B. Bright, Director, The Southern Center for Human Rights
1999 David Leven, Executive Director, Prisoners’ Legal Service of New York
1998 Daniel L. Greenberg, Director, Legal Aid Society of New York
1997 Elaine Jones, Director-Counsel, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
1996 Janet Benshoof, President, The Center for Reproductive Law & Policy
1995 Judith L. Lichtman, President, Women’s Legal Defense Fund
1994 Thomas B. Stoddard, Executive Director, Lambda Legal Defense & Education Fund
1991 Arthur Kinoy, Executive Director, Center for Constitutional Rights