Thirty Six Students Selected for Touro Law Honors Program

September 6, 2012

Thirty six students, 27 full-time and 9 part-time, have been selected for the 2012-2013 class of the Touro Law Center Honors Program. The Honors Program offers exceptional students, on a competitive basis, an enriched comprehensive law school experience. Students in the program participate in enhanced academic, experiential, and social opportunities as part of a community of student-scholars.

"The Law School faculty joins me in celebrating the accomplishments of this exceptional group of students," said Dean Patricia Salkin. "This is not merely an honor to recognize past academic performance and service, but it is an opportunity for these students to further distinguish themselves as learners and leaders," Salkin continued.  
The students selected this year are; Vayola Abraham, Laura Ahearn, Christopher Bergold, Kristen Berrios, Michael Blackburn, Francesca Brancato, Tara Breslawski, Shanee Brown, Lindsey Crecco, Alexander DePalo, Adam DeRosa, Jeffrey Gautsche, Avi Goldstein, Matthew Gordon, Robert Hilpert, Brian Hodgkinson, Ashley Hughes, Jacqueline Iaquinta, Cristina Knorr, Toni Kong, Paul Lipsky, Tommaso Marasco, Jared Mermelstein, Daniel Olsen, Frank Prospero, Angela Pugliese, Joseph Sacco, Farrell Schwartz, Samantha Sharma, Shahab Sheikh, Katie Trotta, Stephanie Tuorto, Christine Verbitsky, Maureen Wynne, Evan Zablow and Matthew Zafrin.

"The Honors Program was designed to enhance the law school experience for these qualified students, chosen on a competitive basis," said Assistant Dean for Student Services Charlotte Taylor. "We expect these students to serve as leaders among the student body and ambassadors for the school both during their tenure as well as upon graduation."

Honors program students, called student scholars, participate in an enriched integrated course and another experiential learning course or externship before graduation. Student scholars are also required to attend monthly intellectual and social activities, special receptions and networking events throughout the year.

Students who were selected for the Honors Program will continue in the Program until graduation, provided they continue to meet the selection criteria. For more information about the Honors Program, please visit


Touro College Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center’s 185,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art facility is located adjacent to both a state and a federal courthouse in Central Islip, New York. Touro Law’s proximity to the courthouses, coupled with programming developed to integrate the courtroom into the classroom, provide a one-of-a kind learning model for law students, combining a rigorous curriculum taught by expert faculty with a practical courtroom experience. Touro Law, which has a student body of approximately 750 and an alumni base of more than 5,000, offers full- and part-time J.D. programs, several dual degree programs and graduate law programs for US and foreign law graduates. Touro Law Center is part of the Touro College system.

About the Touro College and University System
Touro is a system of non-profit institutions of higher and professional education. Touro College was chartered in 1970 primarily to enrich the Jewish heritage, and to serve the larger American and global community. Approximately 19,000 students are currently enrolled in its various schools and divisions. Touro College has branch campuses, locations and instructional sites in the New York area, as well as branch campuses and programs in Berlin, Jerusalem, Moscow, Paris, and Florida. Touro University California and its Nevada branch campus, as well as Touro College Los Angeles and Touro University Worldwide as separately accredited institutions within the Touro College and University System. For further information on Touro College, please go to:
For more info contact:
Patti Desrochers
Director of Communications
(631) 761-7062

Request Information

Fill out my online form.