Distinguished Public Interest Lawyer in Residence Program

Through this program, Touro Law Center recognizes attorneys who have made significant contributions to society by representation of individuals or groups historically denied access to justice. Honorees visit the Law Center to meet with students, guest teach classes and deliver a public lecture. The program attracts distinguished visitors who are active in the field of public interest who inspire and teach members of the Touro Law community. Past honorees include such notables as Elaine Jones, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund director-counsel; Judith Lichtman, Women's Legal Defense Fund president; Daniel L. Greenberg, Executive Director and Attorney-in-Chief, The Legal Aid Society of New York; Janet Benshoof, Center for Reproductive Law & Policy president; David C. Leven, Prisoners' Legal Services of New York executive director; and Stephen B. Bright, Director, The Southern Center for Human Rights among many others.

For additional information please click here.


Seymour W. James, Jr., Esq., – The Attorney-in-Chief of The Legal Aid Society in New York City



Jonathan Rapping – Founder and President of Gideon's Promise, formerly the Southern Public Defender Training Center



James Moreno, Esq. – Federal Defenders Association of Philadelphia's Capital Habeaas Unit



Jameel Jaffer, Director – The American Civil Liberties Union’s National Security Project


Robin G. Steinberg, Executive Director – The Bronx Defenders


Wade Henderson, President and CEO of the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights and Counselor to the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund


Mark D. Cohen, Deputy Director and Chief Counsel of the New York State Office of Homeland Security


Cesar Perales, President and General Counsel of the Puerto Rican Legal Defense and Education Fund (PRLDEF)


Nancy Neveloff Dubler, Director of the Division of Bioethics (Montefiore Medical Center) and Professor of Epidemiology and Social Medicine (Albert Einstein College of Medicine)


Gay McDougall, Executive Director, The International Human Rights Law Group


Stephen B. Bright, Director, The Southern Center for Human Rights


David Leven, Executive Director, Prisoners’ Legal Service of New York


Daniel L. Greenberg, Director, Legal Aid Society of New York


Elaine Jones, Director-Counsel, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)


Janet Benshoof, President, The Center for Reproductive Law & Policy


Judith L. Lichtman, President, Women’s Legal Defense Fund


Thomas B. Stoddard, Executive Director, Lambda Legal Defense & Education Fund


Arthur Kinoy, Executive Director, Center for Constitutional Rights

Request Information