Distinguished Public Interest Lawyer in Residence Program

Through this program, Touro Law Center recognizes attorneys who have made significant contributions to society by representation of individuals or groups historically denied access to justice. Honorees visit the Law Center to meet with students, guest teach classes, and deliver a public lecture. The program attracts distinguished visitors who are active in the field of public interest who inspire and teach members of the Touro Law community.

Past Public Interest Lawyer In Residence Recipients



Michael Allen, Relman Colfax



Richard Hooks Wayman, National  Executive Director of the Children's Defense Fund



James J. Sandman, Esq., President, Legal Services Corporation



Seymour W. James, Jr., Esq., Attorney-in-Chief of The Legal Aid Society in New York City



Jonathan Rapping, Associate Professor of Law and Director of the Honors Program in Criminal Justice at Atlanta's John Marshall Law School 



James Moreno, Esq.., Federal Defenders Association of Philadelphia's Capital Habeas Unit 



Jameel Jaffer, Esq., Deputy Director - The American Civil Liberties Union 

  Robin G. Steinberg, Executive Director – The Bronx Defenders
2008   Wade Henderson, President and CEO of the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights and Counselor to the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund
2004   Mark D. Cohen, Deputy Director and Chief Counsel of the New York State Office of Homeland Security
2004   Cesar Perales, President and General Counsel of the Puerto Rican Legal Defense and Education Fund (PRLDEF)
2003   Nancy Neveloff Dubler, Director of the Division of Bioethics (Montefiore Medical Center) and Professor of Epidemiology and Social Medicine (Albert Einstein College of Medicine)
2001   Gay McDougall, Executive Director, The International Human Rights Law Group
2000   Stephen B. Bright, Director, The Southern Center for Human Rights
1999   David Leven, Executive Director, Prisoners’ Legal Service of New York
1998   Daniel L. Greenberg, Director, Legal Aid Society of New York
1997   Elaine Jones, Director-Counsel, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
1996   Janet Benshoof, President, The Center for Reproductive Law & Policy
1995   Judith L. Lichtman, President, Women’s Legal Defense Fund
1994   Thomas B. Stoddard, Executive Director, Lambda Legal Defense & Education Fund
1991   Arthur Kinoy, Executive Director, Center for Constitutional Rights